rxelyn: (bleach ichigos)
[personal profile] rxelyn
Went to watch The Dark Knight. Finally!!! XDDD

Since I was early, I went strolling around Far East, wishing I brought more money. So many pretty things! I was really tempted to just buy all the lovely necklaces and earrings. *_*

Met Faza and we went over to Cineleisure to catch the movie. But we were about a few minutes late... and didn't catch the first few scenes. Blah.

.

The Dark Knight was seriously awesome. I love Heath Ledger in his role as the Joker. He was quirky and insane and random. But also packed with spiffy gay innuendos. (You and I are destined to do this... forever, you complete me, etc) I can totally see this pair happening in a very dark, twisted and seriously fucked up way.

There were some really obvious loopholes in order for the plot to progress, like why the heck couldn't they have like gagged the prisoners (Joker, mainly) before they start to speak and play with your mind? And... isn't it over all healthy for the rest of the people if you just kill off the criminals that ought to be killed? I mean, they are not afraid of killing you, so by trying to capture them alive, you're putting yourself in a disadvantage. 

I like the fact that in the end, they killed off Rachel because seriously, I think that most female leads in these kind of superheroes movies are just... useless. They are basically a bait. Look at Spidey and MJ, Superman and Lois Lane. The female leads just... act as some sort of a burden to the heroes as their villians use them to get at their respective lovers. And they also give the heroes unneeded pressure. By killing Rachel off, let's hope it'll spark a trend that not all heroes must have love interests.

It's also very cool for the writers to create Two Faced in this movie so that they can have another sequel to this. But it also make the entire plot overly complicated as we switch from one story to another, careeening like a out of control car. It's a little disjointed.

In spite of all this, the characters were brilliantly portrayed. Indeed, what sets Batman apart of all other superheroes out there is the darkness within him. He's no light and rainbow and sparklies. He didn't take up the role as vigilante just for fun because when you're a filthy rich guy there are much more entertaining and less death inducing things to do. He goes out night after night, getting torn up just to protect a city that doesn't appreciates him. You can't go further than that already.

And in the end, he willingly agrees to be framed for the deaths that Two Faced wrought, so that the city will still see Dent as their white knight in shining armor. I think I was horribly touched by what Gordon said in the end.

Date: 2008-08-02 01:35 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ethvren.livejournal.com
he is a vigilante, not a hero. i like that phrase. dunno who said it.

but what did gordon say in the end that oh so got your attention? i forgot lah.

yeah they could have done without the two-faced plot i agree.

and i'm thrilled they killed rachel. the damsel in distress dies for a change lol.

tag my board! spam it before you leave cambridge. :(

Date: 2008-08-02 01:44 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] rxe-lyn.livejournal.com
eh... don't really recall what he said lah, but it was quite gushy and he called Batman the dark knight then what.

yay, no more Rachel. Wonder who they will whip up with in the sequel? Lol.

Profile

rxelyn

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags