rxelyn: (meaningless)
[personal profile] rxelyn
Another one of those days where I find myself tossing and turning in bed and inevitably call it quits with trying to sleep.

Well, got back from caroling at Bugis earlier... or rather last night. Decent enough job, I guess. Came home to have dinner while watching Merlin, which is way historically inaccurate but the possiblilty of slash made me too interested to give it up. Haha. I sort of had my eye on it ever since someone on my flist introduced it but I was too lazy. And I finally started on Torchwood which was lying around for quite a while, damn and now I'm quite hooked. And if I have a spare hour or two, I might just start on Let the Right One In, since I think about 3-4 people have rated it pretty well, and if I'm going to watch anything dealing with vampires, I rather it not be Twatlight.

Read a bit of Murakami's Wind Up Bird Chronicle, trying to lull myself into sleep only to go on reading a few hundred pages, not really understanding the deeper meaning behind those words, other than the surface values and as awake as before. Lol, my mother sort of yelled at me from her room, seeing my light still on, but I think she went right back to sleep immediately since no one came in to badger me. Not that I'd be able to drift off, though. Was it because I slept quite a fair bit earlier and hence messed up my internal clock?

I don't think I like The Wind Up Bird Chronicle too much, it's really too quirky, though there's a sort of charm to it... I mean, I just couldn't really bring myself to put the book down even though it's quite late already. But the characters in it sort of rub me the wrong way, I mean, I can accept Toru and Kumiko, but the rest of the people sort of make it hard for them to grow on me.

I don't know if this is random, but I always feel that Murakami's works should be read with Plastic Tree playing in the background, even though Murakami seems to be greatly influenced by jazz and Plastic Tree isn't really jazz, they're like... fluid. But yeah, Ryuutarou's ethereal and light voice would somehow be quite fitting for the passive protangonists I see in Murakami's novels. And there's usually this dreamy quality that's sort of unreal, in a sense.

My room's currently darkened, only the laptop screen is lit, I believe that the lights outside are also off, but I can't really be bothered to check, due to the curtains that is blocking out any light from outside. It seems that there is a solitary world that's standing between me and the outside? Everything is so quiet that I can hear myself think, almost. Not that I don't usually, since I'm usually narrating within my own head.

It may seem like I'm jumping from topic to topic, but somehow to one own self, there seems to be a tangible link that probably seems like nonsense to someone else. Is this the idea of perception? Like no matter what, I am myself and am not someone else? I always wonder how it feels to be someone else, like what would some other random stranger that I probably wouldn't bother looking twice think when he/she sees me? Is it the same way as I would view them? Or do they have the same view of myself that I hold?

Time seems to pass really slowly, I wonder if I'll see a sunrise today? Probably not, unless I leave my house, since tall buildings have completely destroyed any hopes of a good view of the sky. I've been living in this apartment block since I was... about 5, 6... so it's been about 10 years or so? Yeah, I've seen the number of buildings increase since I moved in. From the new condos to the new shopping mall that's still under construction... things change, but have I changed? It's something that I read from the book, sort of a relevation that Toru had, thanks to May. Or was it one of the Kano sisters? I can't really remember even though I most likely just read it an hour or so ago.

I would like to conclude that this entire post had no real value and I'm sorry if you wasted... 5 minutes of your life, straining your eyes to read the thoughts of an insommanic. If it does bother you, have a free virtual cookie and feel free to criticize constructively. Lol.

Date: 2008-12-22 04:31 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ethvren.livejournal.com
I've been thinking of watching Merlin too, but always ended up watching some other thing. How is it, is it worth my time???

Twatlight.
-I think you just created a new catchphrase there, mate. hahahahaah. :)

If you can't sleep at night, just text me. I'm having trouble sleeping nowadays too, I always end up dozing off close to 4AM. Or we can meet up at 2AM and have a midnight binge or something hahhaa. Or go jogging, lol. Weather's great though, but all that CO2 isn't wonderful.

Date: 2008-12-22 04:49 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] rxe-lyn.livejournal.com
:D MERLIN IS BRILLIANT! IT'S SOOO WRONG THAT IT'S RIGHT. XDDDD

ahem, I live to serve, twilight is so bad it deserves a new separate name for itself. Meyers ought to feel honored. kekeke.

go jogging at 2? I think patrol cars would arrest us thinking we ran away from home, lol. :D but yeah, I shall take you up on your offer on sleepless nights, haha. You might just be flooded with texts, XD

Date: 2008-12-23 11:22 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ethvren.livejournal.com
DOUZO. HAHHAHA :)

No lah no one would arrest us lah so paranoid. hahahah :)

Profile

rxelyn

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags