rxelyn: (Default)


NEWS never fails to amuse me. <3 Been a bad fan lately, until I recently read [profile] peroxide_fic 's take on how they filmed this MV. Which was completely ridiculously trufax. XD And this totally proves Mr Ang's theory, that it is usually the girls who are obsessed with fanfiction. Haha.

history test today was just epic fail, I realised that I am frankly not a genius or even good at retaining information on a most basic level.
and seriously, cough medicine makes me really drowsy. And it tastes so suspicious, I don't understand why there are people who are addicted to it. o_O

plowed through 2/3 of Dance Dance Dance today as well. Murakami's the kind of writer in which I either just stop reading and don't go back to it, or he immerses me within the story that I just don't want it to end, and I start to see intertextuality in his other works. On the other hand, Gaiman's the kind that I either love or hate. I adored his novels and the Sandman series, but till now, I still can't finish his short stories.

coughing has also gotten worse... I am not going to relish being asked to sing in quartet tomorrow, given the lousy quality of my voice... it's hardly here nor there. Mr Kwei will most likely shout at us... and tear up our scores. >.> And I'm not even sure whether I'm joking or being serious. More of the latter, I guess, since Monday's practice was apparently intimidating... Gah

Alright. Heading off to my bed now, even though I suppose there is work to be done.
 
rxelyn: (writing)
Okay... so I actually wanted to do a oneshot inspired by lyrics from Helloween. But I discovered that I really like to make things complicated by expanding the plot so much that it's impossible to explain everything and resolve everything easily within say... 10 pages?
Sumire wrote some works that had a beginning. And some that had an end. But never one that had both a beginning and an end. Not that she suffered from writer's block - far from it. She wrote endlessly, everything that came into her head. The problem was that she wrote too much. You'd think that all she'd had to do was cut out the extra parts and she'd be fine, but things weren't that wasy. She could never decide on the big picture - what was necessary and what wasn't.

~ Sputnik Sweetheart (pgs 13 and 14)
title: fragments
universe: Mercy (to be confirmed)
type: incomplete; sketch
pairing: none
notes: So yeah, basically, plot derived from Helloween's Invisible Man and also this manga called Soul Kiss, if I recall correctly since I deleted it away once I finished it. Anyway, anyone with knowledge of hierarchy of angels? Like... do Thrones (wielders of justice apparently and basically God's eyes) have the license to kill? Ironically, I find that although I am not Catholic/Christian/other branches, there are a lot of such imagery in whatever that I write. Huh.

unfinished. as usual )

Okay... back to doing up gp project... which is making me crave for a cool glass of coca-cola... which means that its pervasive advertising succeeded to a large extent. XD

rxelyn: (lol)

XD. Hunter, ilu. Really. His Q&A sessions are also ridiculous. Haha, slacking off when I should be doing the gp project thing.

Okay. Back to seeing how Coca Cola pwned the world since 1886. Which is a bloody long time! 0_0 (I totally knew that, actually.)

Anyway, have no clue why I'm doing this topic, since I usually avoid carbonated drinks. They make me burp. Like Sara.

In other news, Mandy couldn't meet up tomorrow. So that leaves the option of going home early to rot, study with Amirah at JE library or going to town to check out books. Really, I just can't see the more appealing choice.

rxelyn: (gold sunset)
I am carefully avoiding my nephew who is currently down with a bout of chickenpox. While I may have been infected with that troublesome illness before, when I was like 4, there is a high possbility of me getting it again, since my skin didn't erupt badly with red spots, and I recovered within three days or so... according to my mother.

Anyway, school wasn't very good today... didn't do a whole bunch of homework, like literature, econs and math and history; ended up copying a lot of stuff from Sneha. And I got like an insane amount of GP articles to catch up on, in which I totally blatantly ripped off from Navin. You two are definitely my saviours for today! XD

I'm currently working my way through Murakami's Sputnik Sweetheart. And I felt that I have to shamelessly point this out. XD

Sumire wasn't exactly a beauty. Her cheeks were sunken, her mouth a little too wide. Her nose was on the small side and upturned. She had an expressive face and a great sense of humour, though she hardly ever laughed out loud. She was short, and even in a good mood she talked like she was half a step from picking a fight. I never knew her to use lipstick or eyebrow pencil, and I have my doubts that she even knew bras came in different sizes.

Ahaha, this feels like me being described, not the physical features, except for the short part, of course. I know my lack of height very well, haha. But I shamelessly felt that Murakami could be describing me. Lol. Okay. Whatever.

In other news, was very 'sad' and 'disappointed' that the clique went out without me and saw Fahrenheit without me. D: Lol. And my laptop is super laggy now, due to a lack of space because I have been discovering lots of new music.


Also made plans to meet up with Faza tomorrow! :DDD It's been ages since we last met, as choir and school work means that I have a dying social life.

It looks like it's going to rain now which is total awesome because rain is just brilliant and I love the random streaks of lightning flashing across the sky, I always get this mental picture of a silent symphony or something. :3
rxelyn: (FU)
[Error: unknown template qotd]Haha,  I seldom get the chance to use this because I'm rarely that angry. XD Usually the epic fail icon works well enough to convey my pissed-offness. Lol.

But yes, it's awesome! :DDDD

Okay. Random. I'm going back to watching Legend of the Condor Heroes and ogling Hu Ge! Haha.
(I still haven't finished my homework... stupid e-learning...)

dead secy

Mar. 18th, 2009 11:22 pm
rxelyn: (Default)
... today's title is pretty silly.

After the choir workshop which was great (because we were scolded the last practice? lol), half(?) the alto section (plus one soprano ahem extra ahem) had dinner together over at Yongzhen's place. Had really really random conversations, good natured ribbing at each other, in which we came up with a 'clique' name from some random topic that Sara brought up, haha. (XD Charmaine was very nearly an extra, but she managed to fit herself in! Yay~ Haha)
rxelyn: (meaningless)



ah, I'm such a terrible fan... finally decided to buy AFI's Sing the Sorrow from Borders after realizing that HMV is too overpriced... yeah, I'm dumb, so sue me. Actually, I should have held out until I got the UK edition because I still don't have 'Now the World'... I used to have it but my computer crashed... anyone has it?

I don't get why people don't like this album of theirs because I've seen so many theories concerning this album all over the net, especially when it first came out, back in the days in which I was still a brat getting a dollar a day as 'salary', aka too poor to afford the album unless I starve for a month or so.

going away to camp over at school... =_= I'm not exactly looking forward to it because I'm an extremely lazy person who craves the ease and comfort of staying at home. Dumping me with a bunch of enthusiastic people is certainly not my idea of fun, and then there's all the heavy things to lug around... *headdesk*

there's still the sl project thing looming at the back of my mind, as well as aj idol practices and choir related stuff and of course, homework. Excellent ways to spend a supposedly free week. And I've made some plans with other people that I'm currently feeling terribly confused over... so, I'm to meet Mandy and Jasmine on Saturday, right? Or did I set that date off for Faza already? When can I squeeze out time to go watch movie with Sharon? Argh. I need to be more organized, Kim, you ought to be gotten me an organizer too! XD
 
okay, going off to sleep since rambling on and on isn't going to make anything any better...
rxelyn: (ianto and phones)
[Error: unknown template qotd]lol, this seems to be true for almost all the classes I'm currently taking... especially economics. Every time I step into the auditorium for lectures, I feel drowsy almost immediately... It doesn't matter who the lecturer is, none of them has successful kept my attention for an hour. I'll usually doodle, or write or think of stories in my head, but then... I usually sleep in econ lectures, so... I think the three things only apply for other classes, like history and math especially.

Had an enjoyable meal with the clique just now, where we met up at Lot One's Pastamania for dinner. Sze Him and Mandy couldn't turn up though... however, it is rare that at least majority of us are able to make it, considering the diverse schedules that we are working with. :D

Anyway, Aishah totally suggested that we have some form of clique identity thingie, which is sort of cool, and well, let's hope for another meetup soon in which we can hammer the details out or something? Yeah. Now, I really need to start on researching on the UN sbq thing... which I was supposed to do while waiting for time to pass by so I can meet with the clique, but instead I got sidetracked while re-reading old stories... which don't do me any good academically.

rxelyn: (epic fail)
... argh, got my hair cut on a whim, because it was getting too long and limp... overall very sad looking. But... instead the situation got worse. Gah. I sort of told the hairdresser that I wanted to lop off like 3 inches and trim my fringe, and yeah, I think he got too enthusiastic that he extended my 'slope' fringe to the typical cheena looking fringe that every other girl is currently spotting. =_= I should have stopped him, except that I was too busy drifting off thanks to the wonderful massage from when the woman washed my hair earlier... lol, it's really nice when people are blow drying your hair and combing it for you... that I almost dozed off in my seat. Which ultimately led to this epic failure of a hair. Oh well, my mother laughed at me, and I'm glad that my brothers aren't at home to see because they will laugh too, as I always laugh at their own haircuts. At least it's just hair... and given enough time, it'll grow back properly, I hope... the one good thing is that my hair sort of look straighter than before, since I chopped off the sad looking ends that were splitting or something.
rxelyn: (ehhh)
... missed my internet dearly; what can I say, geek through and through.

Spent Saturday at Fatmah's place where we baked cookies for the fundraising thing for the SL project-to-be with Jia Li and Jaclyn and Sofia and Jia Min and Min Jie. XD It was fun, even though I'm not one for such activities. I think out of all of us, only a few had real baking experience? And I'm not one of them, ahaha. But it was new and fun, though not something I would do alone, because it's so damn troublesome and messy! Imagine me using my hands to knead the cookie dough... urgh. Thinking of it makes me flinch already, luckily Jia Li and Jia Min were willing to do it! Lol.

So... basically didn't have time to stay with the computer since that took up majority of my day.

And today, I joined Ami and Sze and Kim at the library to study... not that I was productive, cos I ended up reading books and writing random crap. Tried to do math, but every time I picked up my notes, I began to feel sleepy... And that, took up majority of a day too.

Anyway, finally finished Leverage S1 and well, I hope S2 comes as quickly as possible, in which I think there was a rumor about Elliot fighting a bear?! Wicked! Lol. Am also starting to watch Kimi wo Petto even though that was a reaaaally old show, but then again, I'm reigniting my love for Matsujun, so I guess, I really ought to watch it...? Haha.

Okay, I shall end the randomness here and continue watching the dorama, so quick update is over for now. :D
rxelyn: (ianto and phones)
[Error: unknown template qotd]ahaha, this is totally stupid. XD

'rxe' came from 'ravenxeve'. which was my username for almost everything; created back when I began my fascination for the occult, 'raven' being a messenger for death and 'eve' for life, which is also part of my name, and the 'x' is... just because it looks like it belongs, haha. I shortened 'ravenxeve' to 'rxe' after MYV removed all the vowels in his own name (which was Miyavi then), but I couldn't really do that without making it look weird, so yeah. and anyway, 'rxe' is most closely to be pronounced as 'rex' which also means 'king' and I would love to be a dictator of a country, lol.  The 'lyn' part came from my given name, 'evelyn'... 

so TADAH, rxe-lyn is created. I don't know why I put the hyphen, I find it quite irritating now... >.> but never mind, changing it would be so damn troublesome.

Going to sleep now so that I can meet Jia Li on time tomorrow at 10:30am. Yeah... probably need to wake at about 8am... gah.

huh...?

Feb. 18th, 2009 10:37 pm
rxelyn: (undone work)
still I go to the deepest grave, where I go to sleep alone.
the seer's tower x sufjan stevens.


I was going to write something which I sort of thought up of while I was half asleep on the train, coming back home. but I forgot. So... I'm blaming the lack of sleep for whatever elusive thought that decided to grace me with its presence and leave with only a brush of butterflies' wings.

let's just hope that tomorrow's a better day.
... I don't think I can hand in econ essay on time...

for now... sleep.
(and never to wake again.)

so I went back to sleep and I dreamed that I was awake.
in spite of the world x the ataris.
rxelyn: (ianto and phones)
Changed my layout finally, because Merlin has been over for ages and I can't freaking wait for the next season to see more Bradley James and the slashiness between Arthur and Merlin!! XD

Pictures involving skies and clouds always remind me of Joss Whedon's Firefly, thanks to the opening song. Haha.

Take my love, take my land
Take me where I cannot stand
I don't care, I'm still free
You can't take the sky from me
sonny rhodes x ballad of serenity
 
Went studying at the library with Ami and Sze just now, which is the normal routine every Sunday, unless something better to do crops up. Ahaha. Thinking of asking Kim to join next time, it's been ages since we last met up and I miss her!! XD Also, Ami and Sze gave me baked goods for V-Day in which I polished off once I got home! Thanks, you guys! :3

Borrowed a chinese book, because of my deteriorating standards in my mother tongue, which is sort of bad because... I think my 'talents' lie in the languages department. Anyway, it's translated from Japanese, The Melancholy of Suzumiya Haruhi, which I already watched the anime.

XDDD Navin just told me that I was awesome during my perfomance on Friday! Yay~! Even though he is my friend and may be biased in his view, it still made me happy. Because that was like my first attempt at acting on stage? Yup, never been one to take part in such activities...

I don't think I finished my homework for tomorrow, mainly math and econs, if there were any... planning to be flayed alive for my trangressions. So, heck care lah.

Oh yeah, anyone have any idea how to change the tag list display to cloud? I've been surfing around for a while, but still no luck.
rxelyn: (epic fail)
Behaved like a total bimbo just now. 3: Over a lizard! Gah.

I was cleaning out my cupboard when I spotted this lizard and out of reflex, I screamed. And the bloody thing just paused in its tracks and seemed to be staring at me, as if waiting for my next move. Hello, lizard, I screamed, so it's your move now. You either get the fuck away from my cupboard or you drop dead.

Which annoyed my brother so much that he came to the rescue with a whatever-it-is-called-that-is-used-to-smack-pests. Ah, my regular knight in armor.... NOT. Because after killing the damn thing by smacking it to death, leaving a squashed and deformed corpse of a lizard, he just LEFT it there and told me to do the clean up myself! D: It was so... deformed! All flattened and in the depths of my blackened heart, I felt... pity for the poor creature who was in the wrong place, aka my room. And it would be really damn gross to touch the corpse because... squashed and dead lizard... urgh, not my idea of a pretty kitten.

So I whined and whined and made my mother come in and peer at the lizard and laugh at my predicament because she hates lizards more than I do. (I'm alright with them as long as they don't invade my territory.) Until my poor brother got fed up with my whining that he came to help again. I was sort of 'hysterical' in the sense that I was half whining about the grossness and half laughing at my own incompetence. So... I probably sounded crazy to him, ahaha.

Upon hearing his chair pull back, and him grabbing the tissue paper box from his room, I pretended to be actually trying to do something productive by picking up a hanger that was lying around and pushing the waste bin nearing to the corpse. Lol, I'm such a faker lah, giving the pretense of trying to clear it up when I had no idea what I was doing. Haha.

Anyway, just realized that next time, whoever who lives with me, be it my boyfriend or roommates or drunken one-night-stands, whatever, they had got to be damn good at killing pests AND clearing of their remains. Or... be mindful of karma by not killing them and merely throwing them out of the window. (they may die from the height, but then again, they might not. It's all 50-50. So... the deaths aren't our problem.)
rxelyn: (O RLY?)
is today's title as in the time correct? XD I learned how to read in time in malay during mother tongue class today, ahaha. It's completely random because I just decided to join the class out of boredom and started paying attention because Hong Zhi said that I was very mean to the teacher with my very blunt words. D: Tsk, see lah, me trying to play nice again. Haha.

Anyway, it's quite pathetic that my basic knowledge of malay is from my math tutor who is from china. >.> Epic fail lah, seeing that half of my clique speaks malay as their mother tongue. -.-

I think there were more things that I wanted to post about... but... currently a little too distracted by Lee Jun Ki's face. XD Shallow, eh.

EDIT: Yes, I know... lol, got 'night' spelled wrongly. XD
rxelyn: (distracted tesshi)
Gah. Here I am again, your daily dose of whine on homework. Finally got off my arse to start work properly because I see other people picking up the slack already and... I think consequences would be quite dire if only a few didn't do the work as opposed to one entire class, because the former is laziness while the second is mutiny. It's all about the perspective.

So. Got distracted within minutes, seeing Gala Darling's Carousel list which had a link to a link to this link. The song is ridiculously funny and quite catchy and the video is just utter lol so... I'm sorry, Tennyson, for ignoring 'the Lady of Shalott'.

rxelyn: (meaningless)
Another one of those days where I find myself tossing and turning in bed and inevitably call it quits with trying to sleep.

Well, got back from caroling at Bugis earlier... or rather last night. Decent enough job, I guess. Came home to have dinner while watching Merlin, which is way historically inaccurate but the possiblilty of slash made me too interested to give it up. Haha. I sort of had my eye on it ever since someone on my flist introduced it but I was too lazy. And I finally started on Torchwood which was lying around for quite a while, damn and now I'm quite hooked. And if I have a spare hour or two, I might just start on Let the Right One In, since I think about 3-4 people have rated it pretty well, and if I'm going to watch anything dealing with vampires, I rather it not be Twatlight.

Read a bit of Murakami's Wind Up Bird Chronicle, trying to lull myself into sleep only to go on reading a few hundred pages, not really understanding the deeper meaning behind those words, other than the surface values and as awake as before. Lol, my mother sort of yelled at me from her room, seeing my light still on, but I think she went right back to sleep immediately since no one came in to badger me. Not that I'd be able to drift off, though. Was it because I slept quite a fair bit earlier and hence messed up my internal clock?

I don't think I like The Wind Up Bird Chronicle too much, it's really too quirky, though there's a sort of charm to it... I mean, I just couldn't really bring myself to put the book down even though it's quite late already. But the characters in it sort of rub me the wrong way, I mean, I can accept Toru and Kumiko, but the rest of the people sort of make it hard for them to grow on me.

I don't know if this is random, but I always feel that Murakami's works should be read with Plastic Tree playing in the background, even though Murakami seems to be greatly influenced by jazz and Plastic Tree isn't really jazz, they're like... fluid. But yeah, Ryuutarou's ethereal and light voice would somehow be quite fitting for the passive protangonists I see in Murakami's novels. And there's usually this dreamy quality that's sort of unreal, in a sense.

My room's currently darkened, only the laptop screen is lit, I believe that the lights outside are also off, but I can't really be bothered to check, due to the curtains that is blocking out any light from outside. It seems that there is a solitary world that's standing between me and the outside? Everything is so quiet that I can hear myself think, almost. Not that I don't usually, since I'm usually narrating within my own head.

It may seem like I'm jumping from topic to topic, but somehow to one own self, there seems to be a tangible link that probably seems like nonsense to someone else. Is this the idea of perception? Like no matter what, I am myself and am not someone else? I always wonder how it feels to be someone else, like what would some other random stranger that I probably wouldn't bother looking twice think when he/she sees me? Is it the same way as I would view them? Or do they have the same view of myself that I hold?

Time seems to pass really slowly, I wonder if I'll see a sunrise today? Probably not, unless I leave my house, since tall buildings have completely destroyed any hopes of a good view of the sky. I've been living in this apartment block since I was... about 5, 6... so it's been about 10 years or so? Yeah, I've seen the number of buildings increase since I moved in. From the new condos to the new shopping mall that's still under construction... things change, but have I changed? It's something that I read from the book, sort of a relevation that Toru had, thanks to May. Or was it one of the Kano sisters? I can't really remember even though I most likely just read it an hour or so ago.

I would like to conclude that this entire post had no real value and I'm sorry if you wasted... 5 minutes of your life, straining your eyes to read the thoughts of an insommanic. If it does bother you, have a free virtual cookie and feel free to criticize constructively. Lol.
rxelyn: (epic fail)
Argh, it's much too warm today to do anything productive. I hate this frigging weather. D: Oh the things I would do for a thunderstorm...

Would so love to turn on the AC, except that the mother would most likely nag about rising electricity prices, etc. It's supposedly the Winter Solstice, isn't it? Shouldn't it like... rain or at least act more like winter?? Stupid climate.

Actually wanted to go shopping before today's caroling session, but looking at this terribly terribly scorching weather... I lost my mood. Ah~ don't even feel like going caroling at Bugis Junction... probably gonna be herded around like a pack of extremely dumb sheep.

Tried to do my literature essays, but gave up after writing my name. Haha, blame the weather? Besides, I don't really make much from the poems... am I not cut out for literature after all?
rxelyn: (ehhh)
Eh, I guess I met quite a lot of new people this year... and I bet the impression that most people get from me is... fierce? Like, anti-social and all that? Cos I don't really remember people's names and stuff like that?

Main point to note, I most likely do remember you, just not your name. Cos I don't really think of people with their names... especially if I just know you or something. I usually assign colors to people through the impression that they give me and I remember them like that.

And I don't exactly talk much because I prefer to listen and I'm not too sure how far/much I can go without offending, which happens way too often, so I'm trying to erase that horrible habit. It's not that I'm shy, cause I'm not... I think? Lol.

Eh. Anything more?
rxelyn: (meaningless)
Worked off part one of my debt today! Apparently when I received financial aid from the school for my Cambridge trip, I also sold my soul agreed to help out the school in return, therefore, went back on one of my rare days off from choir (which has effectively stopped for this year, other than caroling dates) to work in the library. It wasn't too taxing, but I believe that given enough time to stock all the damn books, it may actually be effective weight training on the arms and legs, since you need to lift the heavy books and squat up and down, etc.

Luckily I had Sofia with me, which made the working less tiring and more fun. :D 

Piano lesson today is actually pretty good, considering that I haven't touched the piano since the last lesson... which was two weeks ago? I'm a terrible and lazy student. But my teacher was patient and I think I can bring out the three different styles properly, and have a high chance of passing if I practice my scales... darn.

Think I shall be starting on homework soon? Sharon messaged me to find a day and start working on it together... bah. I'm more excited for the movie outing with Faza, we're gonna be watching Angus, Thongs and Perfect Snogging. The title intrigues me even though I have no idea what the heck it's about, or even its genre. I'm so going to treat myself to Starbucks tomorrow and finish up Herland. By not having any distractions, aka the computer, I think I can finish up that slim looking book which is deceptively tough to complete. Gah.

Guess I shall go sleep now so that I won't be late tomorrow... and I wanted to watch my anime...

Profile

rxelyn

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags